Diocesan Offices

Save Environment Information

Bishop, Parishes, News

New Pastoral Center

Defense of Marriage

Religious Freedom

Catholic Charities

Diocesan Ministries Appeal


Permanent Diaconate

Diocese of New Ulm - a people and a place

(Photo by Katie Moosbrugger)


stablished in 1957, the Diocese of New Ulm is a community of 76 parishes and 4 oratories serving Catholics throughout 15 counties in Minnesota: Big Stone, Brown, Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Nicollet, Redwood, Renville, Sibley, Swift, and Yellow Medicine. The Diocese of New Ulm is Minnesota's most rural diocese, home to a total population of 281,707 with a Catholic population of 58,717. It is an area serving some 9,863 square miles of Southwestern Minnesota prairie.

Diocese of New Ulm youth attend March for Life rally in Washington, D.C.

Emily Rutscher (left) and Molly Helget, seniors at St. Mary’s Catholic High School in Sleepy Eye, hold pro-life signs at the national March for Life rally, held Jan. 22 at the National Mall in Washington, D.C. Ten youth from the diocese attended the event, which commemorates the Supreme Court’s 1973 Roe v. Wade decision that legalized abortion in the United States. Over 200,000 attended the march, which is the largest of its kind in the world.

Read more about their trip in the February 2015 edition of "The Prairie Catholic."


Survey for the XIV Ordinary Synod of Bishops

In preparation for the XIV Ordinary Synod of Bishops, to be held at the Vatican in October 2015, Pope Francis has asked all dioceses to solicit input from their people on the topics of marriage and family life.

Please consider taking the following survey, found at www.surveymonkey.com/r/dnusurvey.

Surveys must be complete by March 13, 2015, to be sent to the Vatican.

If you have questions, please contact Sr. Candace Fier, director of the Office of Family Life, 507-233-5328, cfier@dnu.org.


Watch Bishop John M. LeVoir's Presentations

on the Theology of the Body

Click here to watch Bishop John M. LeVoir's presentations on the theology of the body, given at the Together in Mission session Nov. 22, 2014 at Holy Redeemer in Marshall.


2015 Bishop Lucker Lecture

"The Future of Religious Liberty in America"

presented by Fr. Raymond de Souza

March 9, 2015 -- Redwood Falls

For more information, contact Bryan Reising at 233-5324.



Year for Consecrated Life

Nov. 30, 2014 - Feb. 2, 2016

Click here for upcoming events and resources related to the Year for Consecrated Life!


'Fourth Plan for Parishes' Online

The "Fourth Plan for Parishes" is available online.

Click here to access it.


Join Bishop LeVoir on a

Pilgrimage to Switzerland,

Germany, & Austria

September 14 - 24, 2015

Click here to register online.

Click here for a brochure.

Click here for a registration form.



Diocesan Council of Catholic Women

find out more!


To Contact the Diocese of New Ulm:

1421 6th Street North

New Ulm, MN 56073-2071

Phone: 507-359-2966

Fax: 507-354-0268

Email: dnu@dnu.org


Diocesan Administrator Monsignor Grams News and Info Parishes